© Hak-Won Yoon

Dr. Hak-Won Yoon appointed Honorary Artistic President

South Korean conductor complements the board of Honorary Presidency at INTERKULTUR

World Choir Council

In the course of South Korea winning the bid of hosting the next World Choir Games in 2022, INTERKULTUR took the opportunity of appointing one of the most famous choral personalities in the country to complement its board of Honorary Artistic Presidents: Dr. Hak-Won Yoon.

Following his early passion for the world of choral music, Maestro Hak-Won Yoon graduated from Yonsei University, completed Graduate School at the University of Massachusetts and received honorary doctorates from Midwest University and Shepherd University. Dr. Yoon began his conducting career in 1970 when he led the World Vision Children's Choir. While directing choirs such as the Daewoo Choir, the Seoul Ladies' Singers, and the Incheon City Chorale, he sought to bridge the gap between Korean and global choral music by aiming for the worldwide spread of Korean choral music. At the same time, he sought to popularize choral music in South Korea, which used to be considered an exclusive activity of a certain social class.

Maestro Yoon's numerous choral activities include his involvement as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Korean Federation of Choral Music, as permanent conductor of the Daewoo Choir, as Director of IFCM, and as Dean of the College of Music of Chung-Ang University. Currently he dedicates himself to choral music, among other things, as Honorary Professor at Chung-Ang University, as Artistic Director of the Seoul Ladies' Singers, as Director of the Korean Academy of Choral Conductors, and of course as newly elected Honorary Artistic President of INTERKULTUR.

The Honorary Artistic Presidents are an essential component of INTERKULTUR’s structure as an organization. They are appointed on the basis of their merits in the choral community and support it by making their versatile know-how available, e.g. in workshops or, like John Rutter, composing a new hymn for the World Choir Games. At present, six internationally renowned choral masters assume this office together with Hak-Won Yoon: Mikis Theodorakis (Greece), Morten Lauridsen (USA), Prof. Zheng Xiaoying (China), John Rutter (Great Britain) as well as the late Eric Ericson (Sweden) and Prof. Yang Hongnian (China).