Tim Sharp (USA)

The Brock Composition Commission Series

Monday, July 9, 2012 at 09:00 (a.m.)

The most prestigious choral commission established by the American Choral Directors Association is the Raymond W. Brock Memorial Commission. This commission is offered annually to a distinguished composer for the creation of a new choral work, substantial in scope yet accessible toward a broad audience. The new choral work created by this commission is performed annually at ACDA's conferences. ACDA Brock composers have included Chen Yi, Eleanor Daley, Dominick Argento, Eric Whitacre, Morten Lauridsen, Mack Wilberg, Carlisle Floyd, Gian-Carlo Menotti, and many other preeminent composers. This presentation by ACDA Executive Director Tim Sharp will demonstrate a number of these great choral compositions.